Banana Nut Muffins

I still don’t understand the difference between a muffin and a cupcake. Is it the icing? What about cupcakes that don’t have icing? Are muffins just a word we made up to disguise a cupcake that way we can convince ourselves it’s okay to eat dessert for breakfast?? I read somewhere that the difference has to do with the density. Muffins are “breadier” (new word?) or something like that. But then why is there an array of different textures of cookies – chewy, soft, crunchy, and they’re all still called cookies? It’s a conspiracy! I’m onto you (us)!

So I made some banana nut cupca…I mean muffins.

Banana Nut Muffins
adapted from caitsplate …with commentary!

Muffins:
1/2 c all-purpose flour
1 1/2 c bread flour (I only used bread flour because I ran out of regular. They didn’t turn out tough or chewy, so win!)
2/3 c packed brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 c mashed banana (2 bananas were perfect. I used a fork to mush them up)
3/4 c coconut milk (It was all I had, and didn’t make anything taste coconuty which I worried about)
3 TBS vegetable oil
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg (recipe says large…so..large I guess. Who buys medium eggs??)
1/4 c walnut halves (I crumbled them with my hands until they were nice little bite-sized pieces for the muffins)

Streusel:
6 TBS regular oats
5 TBS flour (I used bread flour)
2 TBS brown sugar
2 TBS butter, softened
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375.
For muffins, in a large bowl combine flours (make sure when you’re measuring you’re lightly spooning and leveling w/ a knife, not packing it in the measuring cups like a crazy person), brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Make a well in the center of the mixture.
In another bowl, combine the banana, milk, vegetable oil, vanilla extract and egg. Stir well.
Add to the flour mixture, stirring until just moistened. (Too much stirring will make the texture tough) Fold in the walnuts. (unlike cupcakes, the batter seemed very thick to me. I was worried there wasn’t enough liquid or too much flour or something else I measured wrong. Good news…it was supposed to look like that)
Place liners in muffin cups. Spoon in batter. You should have enough for 12 regular muffins.

For the streusel, combine the five ingredients in a small bowl. (I found it easy to mix by lightly crumbling it in my hands until everything was moistened and sticking together from the softened (not melted!) butter.

Bake at 375 for 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Mine took 19 minutes.

5 thoughts on “Banana Nut Muffins

  1. Haha, I tend to think of muffins as larger and cupcakes as smaller but I could be wrong 🙂 Oh my, that muffin looks to die for, especially with the strudel!

    • What about mini muffins though? Just trying to add more confusion to the mix! haha

      omg the streudel was the best!

Leave a Reply

